Dressing for men

I was doing a bit of research for my next project and I came across a list of questionnaires for building a character. It was the first time I was doing it so I jumped right in. I came across the terms dressing up and dressing down.

Definition of DRESS UP

transitive verb
1: to make more attractive, glamorous, or fancy <dress up a plain dessert with a rich chocolate sauce>
2a : to attire in best or formal clothes
2b: to attire in clothes suited to a particular role
3: to present in the most attractive or impressive light <a fiasco dressed up as a triumph>

Definition of DRESS DOWN

transitive verb : to reprove severely
intransitive verb : to dress casually especially for reasons of fashion

Dressing up, well, means looking smart and formal and I did my research from the dictionary. But I couldn’t get the concept of dressing down. So I did more research on Google. I finally got to know that dressing down means dressing informally. But that wasn’t the end of my problems. I had to learn how to dress down my characters.
Being a woman, it was hard for me to think from a guy’s perspective. So I had to do more research on men’s’ formal and informal wear and I came across this website called Fashion Beans. Their catch line is Men’s Fashion Tips and Style Guide and it had everything I needed to learn about men’s fashion. It helped me with exactly what I was looking for to create my characters. Next time I am stuck with clothing issues for men, I know where to go.

Suggestions? Opinions? All Thoughts Welcome!

