Lessons from Subway Surfers

I admit that I am addicted to Subway Surfers game on my Android phone. For those of you who don’t know it is a game where one has to dodge all the obstacles and keep moving forward until eternity.

One of the features of the game is the Missions, which are a set of three goals. Once you complete a mission, you get some goodies and a new set of goals are created for you and the cycle continues.

In the initial days, I could barely cross 20 thousand in a single game and having connected my Facebook account, I could see my friends having high scores in millions and more. I used to be envious of them.

After playing regularly, I got the hang of it and I can now comfortably score about a 100 thousand in a single game, which may not be much but it is to me. I have played several missions and I always tried to combine two or more missions in the same game and quickly realised the futility of it. This could be just me but this helped me understand some things in my life.

We had been told from our childhood to focus on one thing at a time. Back then I used to think that it is possible to do multiple things at the same time, (like breathing and thinking for example, ;)) I even know of people who watch TV and study at the same and they claim it doesn’t affect their learning. To each, their own.

My learning from Subway Surfers is:

  • Don’t try to do several things at the same time. Ultimately, all will fail.
  • If you are not good at something, the only way to get better is by practice.
Suggestions? Opinions? All Thoughts Welcome!

